What is E133?

The blue coloring ingredient E133 comes from a petroleum source. It is a synthetic organic substance with a 42090 color rating. It can be found in a variety of foods, drinks, nutritional supplements, and pharmaceutical and cosmetic items all around the world. It can be dispersed in food or other products without an alcoholic solvent because it is soluble in water.

It is a synthetic color produced from aromatic hydrocarbons derived from petroleum. This dye is Halal. If used as a 100% dry color, it is halal. When used as liquid color, it is mushbooh, as the solvent must be Halal.

Is E133 Halal Or Haram?

The primary source of E133 is coal tar, which is halal because it doesn’t call for any alcohol or glycerin with a pork foundation. As long as all other components are halal, any product that contains E133 is halal.

Other names for this synthetic and halal blue color may appear on the food labels of the items. So be aware of watching out for the following names on your food, cosmetics, and medications labels, as these numbers denote E133.

  • FD&C blue no. 1
  • Acid blue 9.

Is E133 Halal In the UK?

The food additives, including e133, are crucial in preserving food for extended periods and helped build the multi-billion dollar processed food business. Regarding its use’s impact on health and safety, there is debate.

Particularly Muslims in the UK are so concerned regarding their consumption of halal food, and they want to avoid using any haram ingredient in the food items they consume. That leads to better research on these food additives, and hence after good research, it is concluded even by Islamic scholars across the globe. That the ingredient e133 is halal in Uk, and it can be used in food items.

Islamic Injunctions Regarding Halal & Haram

Carrion, also known as dead meat, the blood of haram and halal animals, and swine (pig) meat, are prohibited according to the teachings of the Holy Quran. Additionally, it is forbidden to kill a halal animal and dedicate it to someone other than Allah.

Muslims are forbidden from eating unclean animals like insects and reptiles (with a few exceptions, including locusts) according to the 157 verses of Surah Al-Ar’af.

Is E133 Vegan?

E133 is made from synthetic chemicals, and they are also considered halal. Hence it can be consumed by people of all religious groups as well, as it is suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

Does E133 Cause Any Health Issues?

Given that E133 might produce allergic reactions, some worry about its safety for human health. Several European nations, including Norway, have banned the use of E133 due to these allergic reactions.

Although it frequently causes allergic responses when added to food goods, it is perfectly harmless when added to drugs because it is a pharmacologically inactive substance.

Asthma, hives, hay fever, allergic reactions, NRC, and aspirin-sensitive people may wish to avoid.

Products In Which E133 Is Used

E133 provides food products a blue color and is highly soluble in water. To produce different colors of green, tartrazine (E102) and E133 can be combined. The coloring can also be used as a fabric dye and in inks.

Pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, and dietary supplements all contain E133. The food coloring ingredient can also be found in foods like Gelatine, processed canned peas, soft drinks, dairy goods, cereals, candies, and desserts are among its uses.

While the other products involving the usage of E133 include deodorant, hair dye, toothpaste, and cosmetics.

Significance Of Ecodes?

In E numbers, the “E” stands for Europe, which are designations given to particular compounds approved for use as food additives by the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA). Food coloring agents received their first E number in 1962. Later, the list was expanded to include other ingredients such as preservatives, emulsifiers, stabilizers, thickeners, and gelling agents.

More than 1500 food additives are used in the food industry, even though most of the original food additives are no longer permitted to be used in processed foods. Despite the fact that many of these food additives are made synthetically, they are frequently taken from natural resources.

Read more about Is E129 Halal?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *