The six core Islamic teachings necessary for total faith in Allah are contained in the phrase “Six Kalimas of Islam.” The core of Islam is included in these six Kalimas. Muslims frequently only recall the first Kalima.

What Is Kalima?

A Muslim’s identity is expressed through a collection of a few words known as a kalima. The fundamental idea, or kalima, is what binds an individual to the spirit of Islam.

First Kalima: Tayyab (Purity)

Kalima Tayyeba is a prerequisite for any Muslim to be a true believer.

Translation: There is no God but Allah Muhammad is the messenger of Allah

Second Kalima: Shahadat (Testimony)

Second kalima: Kalima Shahadat is a Muslim’s declaration of his or her faith in Allah and the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

Translation: I bear witness that no one is worthy of worship but Allah, the One alone, without a partner, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and Messenger.

Third Kalima: Tamjeed (Glorification)

The purpose of the third kalima is the Glorification of Allah.

Translation: Glorified is Allah (God), [all] praise is due to Allah (God), there is no deity except Allah (God), Allah (God) is greater [than everything], and there is no power nor strength except in Allah (God), the Lofty, the Great.

Fourth Kalima: Tauheed (Unity)

The fourth kalima Tauheed supports the belief in the Oneness of Allah.

Translation: There is no deity but Allah (God) alone and has no partners. To Him belongs all sovereignty and to Him belongs all Praise. He gives life and causes death, and He [Himself] is alive and does not die, ever! Ever! He of Majesty and Munificence. In His hand is all goodness and He has power over everything.

Fifth Kalima: Astaghfar (Penitence)

Fifth kalima Astaghfar is to petition Allah for pardon and to repent.

Translation: I seek the forgiveness of Allah (God), my Lord, for every sin which I knowingly committed and every sin which I unknowingly committed. Verily, You are the Knower of the hidden, the Concealer of the faults, and the Forgiver of the sins, and there is no power nor strength except in Allah (God), the Lofty, the Great.

Sixth Kalima: Radde Kufr (Rejecting Disbelief)

6th Kalma Rad e Kufr, the sixth kalima rejects disbelief and submits to confidence in Allah.

Translation: O Allah (God)! I seek refuge in You from that I should not join any partner with You and I know of it, and I seek Your forgiveness from that which I do not know. I repent from it and I reject disbelief, polytheism, falsehood, backbiting, deviation, defamation, immorality, calumny, and all sinfulness. I submit to You and I declare: There is no deity but Allah (God), Muhammad is the messenger of Allah (God).

Benefits of Reading Kalimas

  • Recognize that Allah is the best and the only one. Allah cannot be partnered with in any way. Islam’s monotheistic nature is taught in the Kalimas.
  • You are personally pleading with Allah for pardon by saying the fifth and sixth Kalima.
  • Learning the six Kalimas by heart provides purity and strengthens confidence in Allah.

Benefits Based on Hadith

It was narrated from Mu’adh bin Jabal that the:

Messenger of Allah() said: “There is no soul that died bearing witness to La ilaha illallah, and that I am the Messenger of Allah, from the heart with certainty, but Allah will forgive it.” Sunan Ibn Majah 3796

Narrated Ibn ‘Umar: that the Messenger of Allah (ﷺ) said:

Islam is based upon five: the testimony of La Ilaha Illallah, and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah, the establishment of the Salat, giving the Zakat, fasting (the month of) Ramadan, and performing Hajj to the House.” Jami At-Tirmidhi 2609

Significance of Kalima

Each word in a Kalima contributes to the growth of Iman, and each Kalima has its significance. It is a statement of faith and belief in Islam. The acceptance of reality offers life’s serenity and humility.

Compared to the rest of the world, South Asian nations like Pakistan place a greater emphasis on teaching the Six Kalimas, which are an essential component of a Muslim’s religious system. The 6 Kalimas are crucial for all Muslims to comprehend since they impart Islam’s most essential and fundamental truths.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *